2016

Wow, it’s pretty sad that I didn’t blog at all in 2015! There are so many reasons why not…too busy with the kids, too tired, too unorganized. However, most writers will say that no matter how crazy life gets, they make time to write because they LOVE to write. They NEED to write. I have always loved writing and in this past year I’ve been faced with something I never expected: such bad arthritis and pain in my hands that I was unable to write. I’d sit down to type and a few sentences in, my entire hand and arm would go numb and a tingling pain would spread over half of my body. It was awful!

I tried many things to remedy this. Stretching, chiropractic adjustments, pain medications, exercises. Nothing helped. I finally had to take a break and just stop typing, save for the short updates on Facebook. I missed it though.

My experience with my disability has always been the hope I could fix a problem. I could feel better. I could take a break and things would improve. Well, I turned 36 last year and had to admit that some things were probably just not going to get better anymore. That’s a tough thing to face. I catch myself in a panic over the thought of where I’ll be when I’m 60 or 80. But that’s no way to live. I have to be grateful for today.

As we moved into the year 2016, I decided I needed to ignore the pain and start writing again. My kids are a little older and a little more independent. I have memories and experiences to record and share. I need to just get back to trying.

No, my pain and other problems haven’t gone away. I’m still working on it. šŸ™‚ Some days are better than others. One of my goals is to share some of the things I do each day to help me cope with living with AMC.

I’ve prayerfully considered what topics to devote some of my writing to. I have plenty of kid stories and recipes to share, just like hundreds of other mom bloggers. What I’d really like to do though is reach out to anyone out there who has AMC. Especially other moms with AMC. Even with the internet being as wide and far as it is, I rarely come across another mom with a disability even similar to mine. It’s the kind of support and advice I’ve longed for during the last 7 years, since my first pregnancy.

If you’ve found yourself here, please let me know. I am going to try my best to blog regularly about parenting challenges and other aspects of living with AMC.

Happy 2016!

DSC_0033-2(1)

5 thoughts on “2016

  1. Pardon my being an idiot, but what does AMC stand for? I was going to tweet this with hashtags to try to find those other moms you’re looking for, but I don’t know the proper term. I’m sure Google would be useful too, but I thought I’d ask you first. šŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

